The Mystery Robusto… (NC)

A man who I’m sure is known to many in the online cigar world, G-man (aka Mike), sent me a small collection of cigars recently. Amongst which were (to name but three): the glorious looking Oliva V Churchill; a shaggy, pig-tailed Kristoff maduro robusto; and a mystery robusto – his special blend we are led to believe. Others who have tried it enjoyed it… but did I?

Appearance /15

You can see from the photo that this cigar has quite a light wrapper. It had a few veins, but nothing too pronounced and not too many. It was firm to the touch, but not overly so – a credit to the regulating qualities of both its cellophane wrapper and my aluminium tubo. The cap was reasonably well applied, though not necessarily the neatest. Overall a decent appearance. 13

Smoking Characteristics /25

Beyond the appearance of this cigar, the first thing which you note is the wonderful, if feint, aroma of chocolate at the foot… Now I’m presuming, as Mike is an American chap (hey, nobody’s perfect, right… ), that this light hued robusto is of non-Cuban origin. As such, I begin to expect certain things of the construction – namely for it to be better than that of most Cubans… Well, it certainly starts off on the right foot – it lights very decently and burns well and evenly from the outset. At the get-go the draw was slightly looser than I personally like, but it improves as the smoke progresses. What is noticeable throughout is a strong, attractive ash – nice and bright with concentric rings building up as I smoked. The strength of this cigar would best be categorized as light-to-medium, no more. So, aside from a very minor issue with the draw, this cigar was (as expected) excellently constructed. The only real negative was the aroma, which wasn’t so great – it started with a tribute to the pre-light chocolate, but soon went down an oddish path. Hey ho. 23

Flavour /25

Whilst I generally expect the world from a non-Cuban on the construction front, I expect a fair amount less on the flavour front. I’ve certainly smoked some nice NCs, but they are just not as consistent. A archetypal example being the Vegas de Tabacalera Robusto (reviewed previously) – the first half of which probably ranks in my top five ‘half-of-a-cigar’ rankings (the other half being just, well, wrank). So what was I going to get from this? Not a clue! Well… as I took some nice and deep early draws, I got the milky, chocolatey-ness which the aroma suggested before lighting. It was quite mild, but nice. Soon though, it took on a greenish, metallic taste – almost reminiscent of the sort of taste which blood leaves in your mouth. Very odd. However, this soon lost its edge, and left me with something more akin to a very strong cup of black tea. Whilst the intensity changed periodically, following the chocolatey opening, this was the only real characteristic which I picked up from this cigar. To summarise… chocolatey opening, became slightly metallic around one-third, but by half way had settled into a tea-like profile. Not fantastic, but it had more than one dimension and moved swiftly on from the slightly dodgy metallic notes. 19

Overall Impression /35

Well, I’d have to say that I have been lucky to get to try a G-man mystery robusto! It’s certainly not a bad cigar, though it’s not in the top echelons either. The construction is great and the appearance reasonable. The flavours didn’t develop too much and there was a slight lake of complexity, but nothing fatal. With the variety of cigars I’ve yet to try, I doubt that I’d go out of my way to pick one of these up at the store (that is, if I knew what it was), but I’d be very happy to smoke it again were the opportunity to arise. 29

(So… to answer the question at the start of the review. Yes, I suppose I did enjoy it).

Grand total… 84/100

Leave a Reply

