Diplomaticos No2

(Size: 6 1/8″ x 52 — Time: 1hr 25mins)

What a fantastic day it was when I decided to light up a Diplomaticos No2. I had a productive meeting in the morning, then went to a beer festival over lunch (even if it wasn’t fantastic) and then lounged around by the water during the afternoon with good company and a good cigar.

So it was, with decent weather (welcome to the world March 2010), that I suggested a cigar in the afternoon. Thankfully a suggestion which fell on receptive ears. So we headed to the Barbican, by the harbour, where I lit a Diplomaticos No2. My previous experience of Diplomaticos was a couple of really quite poor No4 cigars – would this turn my opinion of the brand around…

Appearance /15

This is a pretty large cigar. I love the torpedo shape, so that’s a good start! However, the wrapper was a little damaged (possibly due to multiple shippings and a potential incident with my humidor’s lid ). It was a reasonably light tan colour, from a brand known for slightly darker wrappers, but it was good. There were few and small veins and a very slight sheen. Overall, average looking stick, not helped by a bit of damage. 12

Smoking Characteristics /25

Pre-light, the aromas were almost archetypal cigar. That wonderful tobacco mustiness that just makes you think longingly of moments spent examining your humidor. The cigar lit first time and although it started burning a little unevenly, it soon straightened itself out. The draw was virtually perfect: easy, but with just the right amount of resistance. The smoke billowed from the cigar and it felt like a true smoking experience. It only needed relighting once, towards the end – quite good for a cigar this big, which I neglected on a couple of occassions for more pressing matters… 24

Flavour /25

This was a wonderful cigar to smoke – a nice stick which develops through stages of pleasant flavours. On lighting there was a wonderfully smooth pepperiness – like a good steak sauce. At about one-third of the way into the cigar, after I’d finished enjoying how magnificent the draw was, and how much smoke I was getting, the flavours started to change towards more earthy, vegetal and herby tastes. As the burn started to slow towards the final third, there was a switch towards a creaminess. This developed towards the typical leather undertones which so many cigars seem to have. Overall, this was a well flavoured cigar, good developments were appreciated and the flavours were a solid medium. 23

Overall Impression /35

Well, what can I really say, the rest of this review sums up what a marvelous cigar this was. I loved it, I’m sure my smoking buddy was getting fed up with the praise I was heaping upon it.However, as you approach the very nub of this cigar you have to be on your guard. It presumably felt that I was getting a little confident with such a big stick, and the last three or four draws (right at the nub) suddenly hit me for six… Until that point, I’d have called this cigar, which lasted just shy of an hour and a half, a medium bodied option. However, it’s got a powerful, donkey style kick at the death. Overall though, a damned good cigar. 32

Grand total… 91/100

3 thoughts on “Diplomaticos No2

  1. Nice cigar. Had the pleasure the other day to smoke my first Dippy#2 gifted to me by CJ. Wonderful wonderful smoke. Need a box of em in the near future I believe.

  2. A box of Dippy No2 cigars is right up at the top of my most wanted list, so I’m certainly with you on that one. I was very surprised by this one, after a couple of very poor No4 sticks I was becoming apprehensive of the Dippy line.

Leave a comment